What Happens to My Baby?
Your baby will be checked out by medical professionals, receive any needed care and will be placed with a loving family.
Will I get in trouble?
You do not have to give your name. As long as your baby is not injured, is younger than 72 hours old, and is given to a person at one of the Safe Haven Locations, you will not be in any trouble. That is the purpose of the Safe Haven law.
Look for the Signs
Arizona Safe Baby Haven Foundation has been working with area Fire Departments and other Safe Haven locations to post the signs identifying the location as a safe haven:
Are you afraid or don't want to keep your baby?
Do you just want someone to give your baby to, keep it safe, and make sure your baby gets a good home?
You have options. Arizona has the Safe Haven Law
that identifies places where mothers can safely and anonomously give up their babies without fear of prosecution.
If your baby is unharmed, is under 72 hours old and you don't intend to reclaim your baby, you have options! Simply bring your baby to the Safe Haven locations:
Any Adoption Agency
On-duty Fire Stations
You must hand your baby to a person. Tell them this is a safe haven baby and you may leave. Your baby will be cared for and a good home will be found for the baby. If you need help, call our hotline anytime:
Help available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.